Attempt to understand the future in design

25 01 2012

This a small post about my thoughts and inspiring thoughts taking from others to be able to visualize my future design practice, what I have been reading and where do I get it from. Of course there is so much more out there that I haven’t seen yet even heard from but I am getting there.

In my attempt to soak up as much knowledge and information for my future initiative I have been reading a lot about all the related areas surrounding my four major concepts (SUSTAINABILTY, COMMUNITY, DESIGN and USER EXPERIENCE).  In this regard, my latest acquisition was Design Revolution by Emily Pilloton who has inspired me in some many ways. She argues that design can change the world which I believe it is true and I am decided to go for it. In addition to this, in her first sentence she states that design is a human instinct, that every man is a designer and that every problem can either be defined as a design problem or solved with a design solution (1). Furthermore, she says that in an ideal (design) world, there would be no need for her book because we as designers would be more responsible and socially productive citizens than we have become (2). In this regard, I personally believe that we are citizens before we are designers and many designers acknowledge that they are designing something terrible and they are being completely irresponsible as a designer. This is maybe because they don’t care at all or maybe they do not have any other choice because it would stop them from bringing food to the table. The problem is that this is the common trend and most designers are designing for the 10% of the population. Thus we can soon realize that our industrial design practice is getting obsolete and we need to evolve, we need to change the system. In this matter, Emily points out that as a whole, today’s world of design is severely deficient, crippled by consumerism and paralyzed by an unwillingness to financially and ethically prioritize social impact over the bottom line. Moreover, she even calls for substantial changes, and I am up for it, arguing that we need nothing short of an INDUSTRIAL DESIGN REVOLUTION to shake us from our consumption’s sake momentum. We need must elevate “design for the greater good” beyond charity and toward a socially sustainable and economically viable model (3).

The thing is that we need to change all this and we don’t need to do it tomorrow or the day after but we needed to do it yesterday and by yesterday I mean a long time ago. Now, I have almost a month to get back to my country Chile and start a design revolution there and until then I will keep reading, learning, and self-educating myself towards a better design practice through Design thinking and Sustainable Design. In this area there are several web pages to do that the best way possible. The UX Matters site is great for this with organized chapters by topic so you (and I) can learn quite easily. They have interesting topics such as Self-Education in UX and Working with User Research Data and How to Start a Career in UX Design.

Another web page is Infodesign, understanding by Design where they have different categories such as Research Design, Interaction Design, Personas and much more. The last site that I will recommend today (because there are a lot more than this without even mentioning many books) is UXDesign.com where you can find the definition of UX Design, Books, Links, Information and all there is to know about UX Design.

Bibliography:

(1)(2) (3)Design Revolution, Emily Pilloton, 2009

Useful Links:

http://www.uxmatters.com/index.php

http://www.informationdesign.org/

http://uxdesign.com/


Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

